Today's weather at Gullane:

Broken clouds, light rain | 12 °C | WSW, 40.7 km/h

Work on the Courses

  • Cutting the fairway on Course No. 1

  • The Head Greenkeeper on Course No. 1 using the stimp meter

  • The Greenkeeping team out in force

  • Making the most of the good weather

  • The Soil Patchers at work

  • Hand watering the greens

  • Cutting the light rough on Course No. 1

  • Early Morning on No. 3

  • Winter Bunker Work

  • The Turf Iron in action

Despite the many natural advantages that nature bestowed upon the links at Gullane our green keepers are kept busy all year maintaining and improving the condition of the courses for members and visitors alike. Whereas they strive to be unobtrusive at all times, it is inevitable that occasionally their work may restrict access to part of a course. We aim to minimise the days when disruption is severe and there is a list below of the planned disruption for this year and next. We ask players to plan their golf accordingly.

DATES IN 2017 & 2018 COURSE TYPE OF WORK
Monday 9th - Wednesday 11th October 2017  No. 2 Open but Vertidraining (Minimal surface disruption)
Monday 16th October  No. 1  Drainage works and the moving of irrigation heads will take place on  the 10th fairway on No. 1 and work will last for approximately 10 days. During this time we may need to shorten the hole and play it as a par 3.
Monday 16th - Wednesday 18th October 2017  No. 3 Open but Vertidraining (Minimal surface disruption)
Thursday 19th October 2017  All Courses Hollow tining on 2nd hole of No. 1, 17th hole of No. 2 & 11th hole of  No. 3.
Monday 22nd - Friday 26th January 2018  No. 3  Annual Course Maintenance
Monday 29th January - Friday 2nd February 2018  No. 3  Annual Course Maintenance
Monday 5th - Friday 9th February 2018  No. 2  Annual Course Maintenance
 Monday 12th - Friday 16th February 2018  No. 2  Annual Course Maintenance
Monday 19th - Friday 23rd February 2018  No. 1  Annual Course Maintenance
Monday 26th February - Friday 2nd March 2018  No. 1  Annual Course Maintenance
 Tuesday 21st August 2018  No. 1 Closed (disc seeding)

Minimal disruption expected however depending on the weather for a number of days after the work has been completed, the roll of the ball on the green may be affected.

 Wednesday 22nd August 2018  No. 2 Closed (disc seeding)

Minimal disruption expected however depending on the weather for a number of days after the work has been completed, the roll of the ball on the green may be affected.

 Thursday 23rd August 2018  No. 3 Closed (disc seeding)

Minimal disruption expected however depending on the weather for a number of days after the work has been completed, the roll of the ball on the green may be affected.

 Monday 8th - Wednesday 10th October 2018  No. 1 Open but Vertidraining (Minimal surface disruption)
 Monday 15th - Wednesday 17th October 2018  No. 2 Open but Vertidraining (Minimal surface disruption)
 Monday 22nd - Wednesday 24th October 2018  No. 3 Open but Vertidraining (Minimal surface disruption)

 

Newsletter sign up

©1882 - 2017 Gullane Golf Club.