Today's weather at Gullane:

Scattered clouds | 16 °C | Variable from WSW to NW, 22.2 km/h

Testimonials

  • The Scottish Open 2015, looking down the 7th hole, Gullane No.1

  • Course No. 1

  • The original Clubhouse, now The Old Clubhouse Restaurant & Bar

  • The Members Clubhouse and 18th flag, Gullane No.1

  • Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2016

Below are some quotes on the club, courses and the area of East Lothian. The quotes vary from recent comments made in person and through our social media channels, and from various journalists and European Tour players who were here for the 2015 AAM Scottish Open. We even have comments reaching all the way back to The Times journalist Bernard Darwin in 1934:

Club quote following the hosting of the AAM Scottish Open 2015:

"The European Tour worked in close cooperation with Gullane Golf Club and Gullane Ladies golf club on the highly successful staging of the 2015 Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open. We found the members of both clubs to be very supportive and the success of the tournament owed much to the efforts of the membership who were extremely helpful with the general organisation of the event and the formation of a highly effective volunteer programme, they were a pleasure to work with." Peter Adams, Director of International Championships, European Tour

Quotes from the Pro's

"Another fantastic event was the Scottish Open this year. Thanks to @AAMScottishOpen @EuropeanTour and @Gullanegolfclub for all their efforts", Seve Benson, European Tour player on Monday 13th July 2015 on Twitter.

"Fun week at the AAM Scottish Open, Gullane was a lot of fun to play, thanks for all the support, can't wait for St. Andrews and The Open", Luke Donald, European Tour player after Round 4 of the Scottish Open on 12th July 2015 on Twitter.

"[The] AAM Scottish Open was an amazing tournament. Gullane Golf Club a spectacular GC. And the support for everybody playing was second to none!", Tommy Fleetwood, European Tour player after Round 4 of the Scottish Open on 12th July 2015 on Twitter.

"If you don't hit good shots you'll be punished, and a sign of a great course. So obvious, if you hit a great shot, you get rewarded and poor shot you get punished, and Gullane provides that perfectly." Russell Knox, European Tour player after Round 3 of the Scottish Open on 11th July 2015.

"It is a fair links golf course. You play well here, you shoot good scores. It's one of those when you hit your tee shot, you know whether it's good or bad or indifferent. You have to hit the ball well of the tee here I think is key and you get chances from there." Shane Lowry, European Tour player after Round 2 of the Scottish Open on 10th July 2015.

"Gullane is a wonderful track. It really is a beautiful golf course... This was only my second round on the course today, so the subtelties of knowing how the ball is going to react on the ground is still a chance." Phil Mickelson, five times Major winner commenting after Round 1 of the AAM Scottish Open on 9th July 2015.

"It was great. A little chilly this morning but the sun was shining and a beautiful place. You get on 6,7,8,9 out on the cliffs, some beautiful views. A fun place to play golf." Matt Kuchar, Eiropean Tour player after Round 1 of the AAM Scottish Open 2015 on 9th July 2015.

"I believe it to be the best links golf course that is not on The Open Championship rota." Edoardo Molinari, European Tour player, 8th July 2015.

"In the week before The Open, the turf at Gullane is exactly what we are looking for. Players feel they need to play somewhere where they can squeeze the ball off links turf. They had that at Castle Stuart, at Royal Aberdeen and they will definately get that at Gullane. We see this as a tribute to that venerable links" George O'Grady, European Tour chief executive.

"I know Gullane from my amateur days as it has hosted a lot of great Scottish amateur events. I can't wait to get back to see the composite Championship course and test my game against a very strong field." Rory McIlroy, three times Major winner.

"I got the chance to play Gullane last lear and really enjoyed it, so I'm looking forward to going back and teeing it up competitively." Luke Donald, European Tour player and former Scottish Open champion.

"I'm happy to be coming back for the Scottish Open again this year and looking forward to playing Gullane. I've heard a lot about the course - saw it when I was practising at Muirfield before the open a couple of years ago and am really looking forward to playing it." Phil Mickelson, former Scottish Open champion.

"I really enjoy the challenge of links golf, because it's very different to what we play every week on the PGA Tour. So, I'm really looking forward to testing myself at Gullane, and then at St. Andrews the week after." Matt Kuchar, PGA Tour player.

TripAdvisor/Google and General Reviews received by the Club:

"Great course weather was interesting nice wind and rain course in great condition greens very smooth."  Review from Google, May 2017.

"The perfect place to play golf. Great clubhouse / visitors clubhouse and staff/food all excellent" Ade Chambers, Review from Google, May 2017.

"Outstanding. We enjoyed the package so we played 3 in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. A wonderful time." Review from Google, April 2017.

"Gullane Number One is a real challenge with gorgeous views over the Forth and to Edinburgh to console you when the course bites your rear end! Gullane number two is not to be missed either." Review from Google, March 2017.

Golf at its Best on The Best of Courses - Myself and wife have just spent a two week golf holiday in March staying in Gullane playing the local courses. We played No 3 three times and Gullane 2 once.
The courses were superb do not think that no 3 is short and therefore must be easy it is not we loved it. The weather varied from winds so strong our trollies were being blown over to sunny cloudless still days. From the staff in the visitor centre to members we met this was a superb facility and made our holiday. Review from Trip Advisor, April 2016

I would like to thank Gullane Golf Club for the hospitality that myself, my son and my Friend and his son received yesterday when we came down from Dundee to play on No.1, from the fantastic welcome at the reception desk in the Visitors Clubhouse then the friendly welcome in the bar and the warm welcome from the starter and finally the welcome in the Members Clubhouse it was fantastic and made us feel very much at ease.This was our first time playing No.1 and it certainly will not be our last, the course is magnificent and a true test of golf and is certainly up there with the best course Lindsay Gordon, March 2017.

Great Golf - Played Gullane 2 which is an excellent course, fantastic views across the bay. The course is challenging but if you stay straight the course is amazing. Stay out of the rough and bunkers which can be tricky.Great pro-shop and everyone is very friendly. You will not be disappointed. Review from Trip Advisor, March 2017.

First round of a 9 day golf trip with friends. Very easy to arrange from the USA. Our caddies were great fun (all locals of varying ages). The course was in very good condition and a good test from the yellow tees. I had not been there in 3 years and I think the clubhouse renovation is very well done. The starter was (as always) very friendly and took a great photo with our group. Review from TripAdvisor, June 2016

One of Britain’s best golfing venues - We played Gullane 1 and Gullane 2 this year and were delighted with both of them. We were very lucky to have four days of dry weather with only light winds and some warm sunshine at times. The green fee for Gullane 1 is in excess of £100 but justified this with an excellent course in superb condition, a clubhouse which is extremely well appointed and helpful friendly staff. Review from TripAdvisor, May 2016

An easy bus ride from downtown Edinburgh. A perfect round of (very reasonably priced) golf in a quiet very open track. The staff were genuinely happy to have us and assisted us with a great experience. We played course #2... My son and I will never forget this special occasion and we would play again. Review from TripAdvisor, May 2016

Beautiful links course in Gullane (no1). The service here is great. The course is beautiful with great views of the ocean. It was a big treat to play here. Review from Trip Advisor, 11th October 2014.

We were lucky, terrific weather with only a slight breeze. Course no.2 is in my opinion well groomed and a very nice course with a variety of holes. Stunning views from many tees. The caddymaster was very friendly and helpful. We had a great day on this final day of the Ryder Cup. Afterwards a simple lunch in the visitors clubhouse, white watching how Europe was winning! Review from Trip Advisor, 28th September 2014

From the Press, Publications and Wider Golfing world

"Awesome week at Gullane Golf Club for the Scottish Golf Stroke Play Championship. One of the best courses I have visited!" Tony Meyer via Twitter (@TonycMeyer) Golf Queensland Head Coach - Golf Australia National Coach - PGA Australia (June 2016)

"Green fees at Gullane's courses are much lower than any other current Open course, making them affordable by a wider range of people." www.golfvacationinsider.com July 2013. This is an extract from an article titled '4 Courses We'd like to see host The Open Championship' by Tim Gavrich.

"Just finished at Gullane No 1. Awesome course with views of Muirfield." Bob Harig, ESPN.com, Senior Golf Writer commented on Twitter in July 2013.

"Gullane No.1 playing so pure right now. Firm, fast, fun. Truly one of the great places in the game." Geoff Shackelford, Contributing writer to Golf World and Golf Digest commented on Twitter in July 2013.

"On Gullane No. 1, off the famous 7th tee, hitting to the sea... wonderful golf course." Steve DiMeglio, Covering golf for USA TODAY commented on Twitter in July 2013.

"The course doesn't possess the quirks and idiosyncrasies that some links courses muster but that isn't to its detriment. This is true championship links golf." Golf Empire website, July 2013

"The seventh tee at Gullane Golf Club in Scotland overlooking the Firth of Forth. If you have been there you know... if you haven't, put it on your bucket list." John Godwin, U.S. Kids Golf 2008

"On a clear day there can be very few views as magnificent as the one from the 7th tee. From this tee one gets a complete panoramic picture."  Jean Anderson (Donald), Scottish Ladies Champion 1947, 1949, 1952, Curtis Cup

"It is remarkable how little Gullane and the surrounding countryside has changed over the years. There is a feeling of peace and history few places have managed to retain." Sandy Williamson, British Boys Champion 1939.

"One of the most beautiful spots in the world", Bernard Darwin, The Times, 1934

"There is no quainter or more romantic spot than Gullane. Nor are there finer links anywhere; try them for yourself. And what with hill and valley, fresh air and fine scenery, say if you can bring me anything to match by beloved Gullane." Rev. John Kerr, The Golfer's Guide 1894

East Lothian Quotes

"Golf in East Lothian is something every enthusiast should experience. It's unique in the world due to its concentration of fantastic courses dotted along one very picturesque coastline. It's really no wonder it's known as Scotland's Golf Coast." Gary Player winner of 9 Major titles and 165 tournaments worldwide.

"On my travels I've played some of the best golfing destinations in the world but none compare to the wonderful courses in East Lothian, Scotland's Golf Coast. A must for any golfer." Andrew Coltart, Ryder Cup player, 2-time European Tour winner and Sky Sports Golf Analyst.

"East Lothian's Golf Coast is a gem that should be on your must-play list when planning a visit to Scotland." Mike Harris, Editor, Golf Monthly

"Have you ever dreamed of a place where golf is integral in each and every day where the land is resplendent with one fabulous golf hole after another, where the views as you play are unrivalled and appreciation for the grand old game knows few parallels? Only a few places in the world could make this claim and East Lothian with its 22 courses is high on that list." Scott MacLeod, Editor, Flagstick Magazine.

Newsletter sign up

©1882 - 2017 Gullane Golf Club.